Orange 360 > Towns & Villages
Orange NSW. 11.1°C

Towns & Villages

Share this around

Home  -  Towns & Villages

Discover the unique character of our surrounding villages, each with their own distinct landscapes, flavours and colourful histories.

Take the time to explore all these villages have to offer - rustic cellar doors with magnificent views, meandering country lanes lined with gumtrees and bridle tracks; fine dining with warm country hospitality and orchard farmgates. Hit the road and discover what makes up the rich tapestry of these communities.

Orange Location Map

Did you know?


Blayney was first settled in 1826, with the railway arriving in 1876. In its heyday the railway station had 26,000 passengers and 27,000 tons of goods including coal and wool in and out every year.

Blayney Village Page


Established in 1844, the town has a fascinating colonial history, including the fact that in 1863, the whole town was bailed up in a pub for three days by Ben Hall's bushranger gang. The world-renowned Devonian 360-million-year-old Fish Fossils were discovered here in 1956 and many of these are now on display at the Age of Fishes Museum.

Canowindra Village Page


Established in 1839, Carcoar is the third-oldest settlement West of the Blue Mountains. Classified by the National Trust because of its large number of preserved 19th century buildings, highlights include well-preserved Georgian buildings along the main street, St Paul's Anglican Church built in 1848, the century-old courthouse, and the 1849 convict-built stables of Stoke House, believed to be the oldest building in the village.

Carcoar Village Page


Established in 1869, Cargo grew and prospered during the 1850's goldrush and boasted three hotels, a bank, three churches, two schools, a flour mill, a hall, a racecourse and sporting grounds for tennis, cricket and football. Though the population dwindled to its lowest point in the 1960's, in recent years there has been renewed interest in the town, with new residents drawn to its natural beauty and relaxed pace. The old general store has been transformed into a rustic coffee and giftware shop, and the quarterly Cargo Village Markets is a highlight for the community.

Cargo Village Page


Established in 1885, Cudal was built on an important road in the region once used to transport gold. The old EW Corden Store building offers a step back in time to experience rural life as it was over 60 years ago. It remains the best example of early 20th century architecture and is now home to the community hub known as the Cabonne Food, Wine and Cultural Centre.

Cudal Village Page


Established in 1865, Cumnock was first settled as a farming community. The village is known as a rugby legend breeding ground; having produced five Australian Wallaby players, all of whom lived down Burgoon Lane!


Eugowra is the heart of bushranger country. It was at nearby Escort Rock that the infamous Frank Gardiner and his gang pulled off the biggest gold robbery in Australian history.

Eugowra Village Page


Established during the gold rush of 1851, Lucknow was part of the richest goldfields in NSW. The gold field was known as the Wentworth Field until the name Lucknow was adopted in 1863.

Lucknow Village Page


Established in 1891, Lyndhurst was the closest centre to the gold fields at nearby Junction Reefs. The village prospered during the late 1800's and at one stage boastered three banks, three general stores, a cinema, a pub, professional photographer, farrier, baker, fruit shop, butcher, three garages, railway station, a memorial hall and showground.

Lyndhurst Village Page


Mandurama means 'waterhole' in Wiradjuri and was established in 1876 as a village for workers of one of Australia's first settlers, Thomas Icely. To reflect the nearby 1880's mining boom, you'll find Gold, Silver and Copper streets.

Mandurama Village Page


Established in 1885, the town is home to the Manildra Flour Mill, the largest of its kind in the southern hemisphere and home to the Amusu Theatre, the oldest continually operating theatre in Australia.

Manildra Village Page


Established in the 1800's, the entire village is classified by the National Trust and a browse through the golden Memories Millthorpe Museum will reveal fascinating colonial artefacts

Millthorpe Village Page


The name Molong is derived from an Aboriginal word meaning 'place of many rocks'. Explorer Sir Thomas Mitchell's indigenous tracker, Yuranigh is buried just out of Molong on the Mitchell Highway towards Orange. A man of special honour, an Aboriginal scarred tree trunk marks this significant grave site that reflects European and Aboriginal interaction. Molong is also home to the Packham Pear - first cultivated here by Sir Charles Packham in 1896.

Molong Village Page

Mullion Creek / Ophir

Ophir is an important site which has changed the course of history in Australia in the 19th century. Little remains of the site where more than 2000 miners dug for their fortunes, but this is the place, in 1851, where the first payable gold was found and gold rushes began.

Mullion Creek / Ophir Village Page

Nashdale / Borenore

Rich in indigenous heritage, the nearby Borenore Karst Conservation Reserve, or known to locals simply as Borenore Caves, were once the birthing grounds for womens of the Wiradjuri tribes. The limestone caves were also a source of fine Borenore Red marble, which was supplied to the Strand Arcade in Sydney and also Buckingham Palace.

Nashdale / Borenore Village Page


Neville enjoys four distinct seasons - warm summers, an abundance of scented roses in spring, and dramatic foliage in autumn. Snow falls several times a year during winter, with the nearby Mount Macquarie often covered in a smattering of white.

Neville Village Page


The establishment of the railway in 1876 saw the township grow and it was named Newbridge to avoid confusion with another town of Duramana nearby.

Newbridge Village Page


Stay in the loop